Uber accused of stalking their customers with the new update

Uber insist all their updates are meant to make the experience with their service better.
By Aaron Sims | Dec 05, 2016
Uber insist all their updates are meant to make the experience with their service better. However, several times they have been accused of intruding into client privacy with their app.

The new update allows Uber to track a customer to up to five minutes before and after the ride. That means Uber will know where you are, even if you are not in their cab or have the app in the background.
The company has come out and defended the update saying that it was meant to increase security as on uses the app.

A few times before Uber drivers have been accused of following the client after dropping them. The new update will help show Uber the location of the vehicle and how they parted ways.

"We do this to improve pickups, drop-offs, customer service, and to enhance safety. Trip Related Location Data is collected during the following times," said Uber. "On the app users can choose between two information sharing options labeled 'Always' and 'Never.'"

The update may be in good faith, but with the number of cases Uber has received because of data infringement, it would perhaps be better if this update was re-evaluated.

The God view application that was scrapped by Uber allowed drivers to look a passenger real time movement. The company had to pay more than $20,000.

---

Have something to say? Let us know in the comments section or send an email to the author. You can share ideas for stories by contacting us here.

Comments
Comments should take into account that readers may hold different opinions. With that in mind, please make sure comments are respectful, insightful, and remain focused on the article topic.