|By Kramer Phillips | 2 years ago|
According to gizmodo, Instagram has eliminated a feature that notified users when someone took a screenshot of their stories. This decision was made after several months of testing. The decision was made with little fanfare from Instagram, though is being widely discussed amongst Instagram users.
The change came after months of testing screenshot notifications, which was first introduced in February. This move was noted for it’s similarity to Snapchat, which also alerts users when someone screenshots a photo or story. In both Snapchat and Instagram, users can see who viewed their content.
During the testing period, users would be notified of screenshots with a camera shutter icon notification, as well as the name of the user capturing the post. Users taking the screenshot would be given one notification (warning) stating the “next time you take a screenshot or screen recording, the person who posted the story will be able to see it.’
Although this feature has been removed, it still remains a work in progress. If you screenshot a disappearing video or photo in a direct message, it will still produce a notification for the other party. If you aren’t sure, it may be best to check and see, as these features can change without much notice.