YouTube Music launches in US and 16 other countries

Kramer Phillips By Kramer Phillips | 2 years ago

YouTube Music and YouTube launched today in 17 countries, available thus far in the US, Australia, New Zealand, Mexico, South Korea, Austria, Canada, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Norway, Russia, Spain, Sweden, and the United Kingdom, according to Verge. YouTube Music began a “soft” rollout last month, but the service is now available for anyone to try.

YouTube Music is a streaming service, which comes with a “reimagined mobile app”, as well as a new desktop interface specifically designed for music. The service features an intelligent search powered by machine learning, which is not featured on competitors such as Spotify or Apple Music.

There are original album versions of songs, as well live versions, as well as remixes and covers from other artists. There are also tracks from unsigned artists, and there is an emphasis on music discovery, with recommendations based on your “listening history location, and activity.”

YouTube Music is priced at $9.99 a month, with a free ad-supported version available. YouTube Premium will cost $11.99 a month, which features all the same content as well as some YouTube “Originals” such as movies as and other content you can only find there. YouTube says the original content will be expanding in the future, with shows from the UK, France, Mexico, and other countries coming.